Slow and Steady

Pain Management Programme Week 2

Posted on: November 2, 2008

Well this week was a much better week. Last week I think was getting us to face up to the fact that there is no cure and changes have to be made.

This week was about putting those changes into action. We done stretches everyday stamina training (started at 5 minutes and worked up to 15 by the end of the week), and are putting the pacing skills into practise by doing occupational therapy.

I learnt how to use a sewing machine!! I love it I want one… I’ve even got my clothes line named already!

I’m still in pain, but my mobility is getting better… I’ll admit it though, it still seems weird to me that I can stretch a bit more and still be in pain, that is really going to take some getting used to.

It’s amazing how pain can make you selfish. Because you’re trying so hard to act like everything is ok so people don’t baby you, you miss the things that are right in your face.

Anyway one more week to go, I’m so glad I’ve met people who understand what I’m going through. There are 8 of us in the group and we get along so well. Four of us are staying in or as we call ourselves ‘inmates’ lol. Some of the group are really bad, there is a lady with arthritis in both legs and both arms so has to walk with crutches and wear arm bands with steel rods. Another lady will be having surgery to remove a whole vertebrae if this programme doesn’t work for her, and it’s only a 50% chance it’ll work, if not she’ll be permanently paralysed.
Each of us though have made some sort of improvement mobility wise from week 1.

The clinic is also a rehab for stroke patients and people who have had brain surgery.

I feel so humbled everyday when I see people in wheelchair not able to communicate with nothing but their eyes. I cannot imagine understanding everything and not being able to say what you’re thinking and feeling.

I’ve met people who I will be making a real effort to keep in touch with, including the granny who is protecting me from the male security guards and nurses… It’s been said the only time she speaks clear is when she’s telling them to go away!

1 Response to "Pain Management Programme Week 2"

[…] I woke up after crying myself to sleep, I was reminded of a woman I met when I was at the pain clinic. All she did in the week was work and sleep. At weekends, she’d go shopping early on Saturday […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

