Slow and Steady

What do I consider eating healthily?

Posted on: November 28, 2008

I’m very simple.

I want to eat breakfast lunch and dinner, maybe a small snack here and there and that is it. I am aiming to have fruit or vegetable with every meal.

I intend to eat as little processed food as possible. I have £7.50 a week to feed myself on.

Luckily, before I got to this stage, I always kept my cupboard essentials topped up. I have oats, rice and pasta etc and for that I am very happy.

While I’m not fussy about whether or not meat is organic, I will not buy value range meat. I have done in the past and I think it is false economy. The meat shrivels down to nothing, and even when well seasoned doesn’t seem to have much flavour. I will hold out for reduced normal price meat if it’s in my price range.

If there is a week that I do not spend my full allowance(!) then I will use the money to stock up on cupboard essentials that are running low.

I am also working on portion control. I am using this site quite a lot until I get an eye for what one portion looks like. In a very odd way, I quite like having the challenge of eating well for so little. Also just to add a little more fun to this, I have no freezer at the moment. My fridge has broken down and I can’t afford to A) get a new or B) get it fixed. Luckily a friend of mine had a spare tiny fridge, but it has just a small icebox that she said doesn’t work very well. This is very annoying as there are some days that I am in pain and I cannot get to the shop, or make a meal and I used to be able to just shove one of my home made ‘ready meals’ in the oven. It also means I cannot take advantage of the yellow label reductions in meat like I used to and have to cook it quite fast.

All well, all part of the fun eh?

Leave a Reply

Categories

