Slow and Steady

Condensed Milk

Posted on: December 6, 2008

Not very healthy, but I do like to have it with my porridge. My granny has made it like that since I was little.

Shaz kindly showed me a link to make my own from dried milk. I done it today and it was really good.

Here are the instructions from this link

On the stove, bring to a boil 1/2-cup of water, 1-cup of sugar and 3-tablespoons of margarine or shortening.  Add a dash of salt.  Stir the mixture every now and then.  When it comes to a full rolling boil, remove it from the heat.  Allow it to cool slightly.  Add a cup of instant dry milk powder.  Use a whisk to stir it smooth.  A fork or a spoon will not work out all the lumps.  You really need a whisk, or egg beaters.  There, you are done.  This is the equivalent of a can of sweetened condensed milk.  This will keep unrefrigerated for a day or two because of the sugar.  I have never kept it longer than that without refrigeration.  In the fridge it will keep for 2 weeks. For longer storage than that, I freeze it.

I made up half of this just to see if I liked it, and I used real butter instead of margarine, I only used 1 tablespoon instead of 1.5, as it was salted butter, I didn’t add any extra salt.

It tasted a bit powdery after it had cooled down, so I added a little more water to it and it was fine. I can’t believe it’s so easy to make.

Thanks you Shaz!!


1 Response to "Condensed Milk"

I am pleased it worked out ok

Made me laugh re:the salted butter .Why do recipes state unsalted butter then ask you to put salt in ???……….lol

enjoy your week

Shaz

Leave a Reply

Categories

