Slow and Steady

A dream finally come true!

Posted on: April 8, 2009

Allow me to share something with you. I’m very happy about this, but am going to have to start from the beginning.

I had a car crash in 2001 and couldn’t work for months. Those months I can now say were a true turning point in my life.

I was 20 in a lot of debt.

I wasn’t sure how much, but I knew that I needed to do something about my finances and a few months prior, I started working for Kleeneze. I was drafted in by a woman I met at work and she made it sound so easy. I was beginning to find that holding down a full time job that was not a 9-5 while trying to make as much as I could with Kleeneze hard, but I was determined to do the best I could.

After the accident, I couldn’t work and was only getting half pay so the bills never got paid. The default letters started coming in.

I tried to bury my head and forget about it, but it wouldn’t go away. I tried to borrow more money to consolidate, and suddenly everyone was turning me away. I was so so scared. I had court notices coming through and nowhere to turn.

Luckily, the company I work for have a inhouse citizens advice bureau. My manager told me to phone them after a very tearful phonecall when I was told my pay was completely stopping.

Someone came round and sat down with me to work out exactly how much it was I owed.

£25, 000.

£25,000

£25,000

20 and I had £25k debt. I didn’t have a house, I didn’t have children. It was just a car loan that had morphed into consolidating my overdraft, an overdraft, another car on hire purchase.

That wasn’t even including interest! We worked out that I probably wouldn’t pay it all back for about 11 years.

He sat me down and gave me letter templates to write to all the creditors, asking for the interest to be held and if I could pay a small amount until I was back on my feet. I also sent them a copy of my budget to show that I really had no money.

I sent off all my letters and they all came back positive except, ironically the one I owed the least. Kleeneze.

I have to be honest, every time I think about this it still annoys me. At the time of the accident, I was on the way home from work and going to deliver all of my orders. The car flipped twice, and landed on the roof, so everything in the boot was damaged. I could not sell them, but they still had to be paid for. The total order was about £150.

I wrote to Kleeneze and let them know what happened, and asked if I could pay a nominal amount until I was back on my feet. They refused and took me to court demanding full repayment. I pleaded with them, but they just wouldn’t let up. Once the  court fees were added, it was nearly £700  and I had a CCJ issued against me. The court however took my budget into account and I had to pay back £3 a month. That made me laugh, because I was offering them £10. Needless to say, I have never bought another product from them.

Anyway Monday 6th April, I paid off my last loan. 2 years earlier that predicted and (mortgage excluded) am now debt free!

I am very very proud of myself and am going to celebrate by enrolling in a clothes making class. I’ve decided that I need more skills and I think that clothes making will be a useful tool. Especially for my “special” pear shape!

I’m a bit sad that I can’t share this news with my family. I learnt my bad habits from somewhere… Yep, my mum. In fact when I was consolidating my overdraft for the 4th time, she convinced me to get some for her so she could buy a Louis Vuitton bag!

She hasn’t changed, and sharing this news with her would mean she would want more money from me. As selfish as it sounds, for once I need to think of me first.

Tags:

1 Response to "A dream finally come true!"

congrats on becoming debt free.
************************************
Thank you Lushes!

Leave a Reply

Categories

