Slow and Steady

A new career?

Posted on: April 8, 2009

With my ongoing health problems, my future at my company is uncertain. I’ve been off work for more than a  year. My job is quite physical, and as I am right now, I can’t do it.

I’ve been doing my job for over 10 years and while I don’t hate it, it doesn’t excite me as it used to.

I’ve been given a huge wake up call now I possibly cannot do it anymore. While I am hoping for the best, and am working towards being 100% fit again, I am also preparing for the worst and have started to think about other options.

I’m working my way through Career Change For Dummies, and I’m really enjoying the process. I’ve had some wild and wacky ideas, however there are 1 or 2 I’d actually like to follow through.

I am leaning towards self employment. The main reason being if my health problems continue, I don’t think an employer would hire me. I have days when I can’t even make it down the stairs,  and other days where I’ll be out and will just cease up and need to go home.

I’m also thinking about going back into college for some additional training. I’m not quite sure in what though. Psychology and counselling keep popping up as I find people fascinating.

Now my debt is paid off, I want to build an emergency fund up… Actually I should say rebuild my emergency fund. I have to admit, I didn’t follow the standard advice given by financial gurus about having saving and having debt. Once I moved my last loan on to a 0% credit card, I started saving in addition to paying off my debt.

If I hadn’t, there would have been no way I would have been able to manage after my accident last January. I made it to December without going into bill arrears while paying for 4 different types of complementary therapies, and normal everyday things on half pay.

I truly understand why now it’s so important to have an emergency fund.

The good thing I learnt is how little I could actually live on. I found a lot of new ways to save money. As odd as it sounds, I’m enjoying the process of not having much money, it’s bringing out a creative part of myself I never knew existed.

While I may not know what it is I want to do for work, I do know that financially, I’m aiming to be comfortable enough not to worry about money. I need to learn to make my money work smarter.

While I’m saving my emergency fund, I’m going to start educating myself in investing. It’s something I’ve always been interested in and now I’m debt free (I just love writing it lol) I feel that investing is becoming more of a reality than a dream.

Here are a couple of steps I’m going to take this week:

  • I’m going to the library tomorrow to get some books on investment out.
  • I’m going to buy the weekend FT. I used to read it at work, and found it a very interesting read. I want to start getting used to the jargon of the financial world.

Any book recommendations? Any recommendations of blogs/sites about investing?

Leave a Reply

