Slow and Steady

Growing food indoors

Posted on: April 8, 2009

Last year I learnt how easy it was to grow herbs and lettuce. I always used to buy herbs from the supermarket and attempt to grow them and they always died. It wasn’t until I started growing my own I realised why.

They stuff the pot with loads of herbs, and there isn’t enough soil. If you split the pot into two, and add a bit more soil. You’ll find they flourish.

Last year I grew basil and lettuce leaves, they lasted from summer (well, the months it was supposed to be) until winter when I moved back to my mums. It was lovely though, a salad ready prepared. They tasted amazing, such a difference to the limp watery leaves in the supermarkets.

This year, I’m a bit more adventurous and have cherry tomatoes, parsley, coriander, basil, rocket and mixed lettuce leaves growing. I’ve also ordered some strawberry plants that I found on special offer!

I’m going to chart their progress very carefully.

If you are interested in growing your own, you can pick the seeds up in supermarkets, they are really cheap and so is the soil. I think it’s better to go to a garden centre though as you have more choice.

I don’t have fancy pots, I just use tomato containers that have holes in the bottom.

Keep a look out online for free seeds. I got my seeds this year from a give away offer that was in The Mirror!

Leave a Reply

