Slow and Steady

Are you sure you’re over 21?

Posted on: April 9, 2009

Now let me just say, that as nice as it is to be young looking, it is very annoying when you have mobility problems, make the effort to go to the shop, only to be turned back by someone a lot younger than you.

A few weeks ago when we had our first real sunny day, I was with my sister (18) and decided to pick up a bottle of cava. At the till, the cashier asked for ID, I thought fair enough, I’m  with my sister and her friend all similarly dressed. I didn’t have any ID, so my sister showed hers and off we went.

I was in Lidl today buying some butter and decided to treat myself to a bottle of wine. They had my favourite French wine Pouilly Fumé, on special offer for £5.99. That’s really good as it usually at least double that price so I hardly drink it nowadays.

I got to the till and the cashier asked me for ID. I laughed and said ‘I used to be able to get into clubs at 16 because I looked over 21, now I’m nearly 30 I can’t buy wine because I look under 21’. She laughed, but still held on to the bottle. She called her manager over and these two young things, who didn’t even look 21 themselves, were scrutinising every pore on my face.

Then they refused to sell it to me!

I couldn’t believe it, the woman behind me offered to buy it for me, but they said no to that too.

They suggested that I come back with ID, but I choose to go shopping at a very specific time when it is quiet and there is no queues as I cannot manage to stand in them.

I’m not blaming the cashier, she’s only doing her job, and now they personally can be fined, I wouldn’t take the risk either. I just find it really annoying in a funny sort of way. I better look for my photo driving license and keep it with me from now on. Funny old world eh?

Leave a Reply

