Slow and Steady

Everything happens for a reason.

Posted on: April 21, 2009

An oft-used cliché, but in this case so very true.

Yesterday I was really upset about not being able to do the sewing class. It wasn’t just the sewing I was upset about; I was upset because it signified so many things to me. It meant I was getting well, that I would have something else to talk about other than pain, that I was getting out of the house, and have used my time productively.

After crawling through the list of available classes, I found that Spanish classes weren’t full. I rang the learning centre to speak to a language advisor, and he asked a series of questions to determine what level I should start at. I was slap bang in the middle of levels 4 and 5. He said that the choice was up to me, whether I wanted to go over some things I knew and do level 4, or push myself and do level 5. I chose the latter.

He suggested that before I enrol, I talk to the tutor to make sure I could handle the level. Luckily there was a class yesterday evening, so I went along just before the class to talk to the tutor. He was lovely, and suggested that I stay for the 2 hour class and then decide whether or not I wanted to enrol.

The class was good, and luckily they were reviewing the past tense, which is what I’m currently stuck on.  I’ll share some observations in my next post about the class in general because I found it really interesting.

Even though I stood up regularly to stretch, by the end of the class, my back was killing me, and my neck started to cease up. The tutor had to help me downstairs and the security guard helped me to my car.

One of my sister’s friends came to drive my car home, as by this time, my neck had ceased up.

Needless to say I will not be signing up for the class.

While waiting for my sister’s friend to arrive, I thought about what had happened. This is the first time I’ve had to sit down and do something that is remotely like work outside of my home, which means I couldn’t lay down if I felt I had done too much. I have done some MS excel training at the library, but that was purely computer based and I didn’t have to look at a text book, write on a whiteboard, or put my head down for writing in a book for 2 straight hours.

Then I thought about how I would have felt if I had enrolled on the sewing class, and the same thing happened.  Using a sewing machine is not easy; you use your whole body. I did use one in occupational therapy at the pain clinic, but it was only for about 45 minutes, and I took breaks. I would have been absolutely devastated if I had turned up and not been able to complete the class, and I wouldn’t have been able to get my money back as the classes are not refundable.

So in a strange way yesterday was really positive, I saved money and learnt a bit more about my tolerance level.

2 Responses to "Everything happens for a reason."

That is such a shame hun but I see where you are coming from with regards to the pain.

What about an online course where you use the webcam and mic for tutoring? I know we have them for Arabic and Islamic studies surely there must be something like that for languages.

Ill try and have a look for ya xxx

Thanks Amatullah,
I’ve been looking into other options today. I saw some personal tuition on gumtree, but maybe an online course will be better. I’ll do a bit more research.

xx

Leave a Reply

Categories

