Slow and Steady

The Too Much Info (TMI) post!

Posted on: April 24, 2009

I’ve warned you!

I’ve been having abdominal pains on my lower left side, and ended up getting referred to a hospital to have a very undignified test called a colonoscopy. The doctor said there was nothing abnormal there, and the pain is probably the result of constipation that usually comes with taking a codeine based drug, however to be on the safe side,  she sent me for a abdominal ultrasound which I had today.

My stomach has been feeling really tender for the past few days and looks really big. I wasn’t allowed to eat anything 6 hours before the ultrasound and had to drink 2 pints of water an hour before.

The stenographer said he couldn’t see my kidneys because I was full of too much gas! Have you ever heard of such a thing?

So I turned to Google for the answer (lol), and found that I wasn’t strange as I thought I was.

I could be lactose intolerant, need to cut down on my fruits (gasp) and veg or have IBS.

I can’t wait to hear what the doctor will have to say about these results.

2 Responses to "The Too Much Info (TMI) post!"

Just reading ur updates. Do u take Senna? I take it daily *at night* due my meds and esp my codeine. Unlike yourself, I’m not too good at taking my fruit n veg. I suffered IBS for as long as I can remember..esp with present job *!* It wasn’t until being off sick, that I realised that my IBS is alot better… ie I don’t get the spasmodic stomach cramps..but due my meds I easily go between the runs to the tap being plugged in!! TMI back at ya lol! I was taken away in an Ambulance years back as they thought I was needing my appendix out…that’s when I got the same scan as u * i remember mentioning it when we last spoke about scans!*…turns out it was my IBS..omg it was so very sore:-(
Sorry to hear you’ve got yet another thing to deal with!!! It never rains but it pours eh!

Will catch up with you sometime soon…lots to catch up on. Love n hugs…and u take good care xxx

Yes, the consultant put me on senna and fybogel.

Bloody codeine! The things we have to do eh?
xxx

Leave a Reply

