Slow and Steady

My 1st swimming lesson

Posted on: April 27, 2009

I was very excited this morning to have my first swimming lesson.

I left early as I knew that parking was a pain near this pool.

When I got to reception I was met by a very rude receptionist who told me the till was broken and she couldn’t get a till receipt for me. Without a till receipt, I couldn’t have my lesson.

I was not impressed.

I told her I was having my lesson, and that she’ll have to talk to the instructor. Finally, after much huffing and puffing, it got sorted. I started to make my way to the changing room without any direction from the stroppy receptionist, even though she knew that I hadn’t been there before.

I got to the end of the hall, and found myself standing  on top of a set of stairs. I stood there for a while, until I saw a member of staff. I asked where the changing room and swimming pool entrance was. He explained that I had to go down all the stairs to get to the changing room, walk through an underground tunnel, then back up another set of stairs that brings you out to the pool.

I asked where the disabled facilites that were mentioned on the website, and he took me to a door that had a disabled sticker on. Inside was a large space, with toilets on one wall and urinals on another. No lockers or showers. I asked where I was supposed to leave my valuables and he said with the recptionist. At that point a man walked in to use the urinals. I walked out and went back to reception, and a man who I’m assuming was a manager told me to use the 1st aid room as the toilet was in use. So in I went, again no shower no locker, got changed and left my clothes in the room and my handbag with reception.

The lesson itself was great, even though it was only 30 minutes it actually felt a lot longer. We played around with the idea of breast stroke, but the leg movements hurt my back. I learnt how to float, which as easy as it sounds I find really hard.

At the end of the lesson while I was still dripping wet I had to walk through reception in just my towel. The room was cold and may I repeat… No shower!

I am furious.

As nice as the tutor was I’m not going to go through that every week. I haven’t stopped sneezing since this morning. I’m going to write a letter of complaint to Lambeth Council, how dare they treat people this way?

Tags:

3 Responses to "My 1st swimming lesson"

You are still doing brilliantly hun!!!! I wish I could make it even better and your frustration makes me sad BUT you are still an inspiration love!!!!!XXXX

Aww thanks love. xxx

[…] Since the disaster of a swimming lesson last year, I’ve been on the hunt ever since. All the local pools operate this weird policy […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

