Slow and Steady

How I got my blue badge.

Posted on: May 3, 2009

I promised my dear friend LL I would write this how to guide.

I have to say though, I’m not sure it’s going to help.

I applied for the blue badge while awaiting a decision about DLA. The form comes from the council not the DWP. The 1st question is  are you blind or on DLA higher level mobility. If you are, you are automatically entitled to a blue badge.

Then it asks you about your mobility and whether you need a walking aid and what type. I said that I could walk without an aid, but not very far.

Then they ask you if you can use public transport. I said no.

They ask for the main reasons that you believe you need a blue badge. I said that I find it difficult to walk any short distances without flaring up. I also said my doctor suggested I get it so I can leave the house more as I was depressed.

They then ask what is your medical diagnosis, how long have you had your disability and is it terminal.

They also want details of your medication and the name and address of your doctor.

I sent mine off and about 3 weeks later, they sent me a letter saying that I was going to have to see their medical person to see if I’m eligible, and that the waiting time to see him is about 3 months.

A week after that, I got my decision from DLA and I was awarded higher rate mobility.  I rang the council to let them know, and they told me to send in proof and a cheque.

It still took about three weeks to come though as there was a back log.

Not sure if that was any help at all. Good luck!! xx

5 Responses to "How I got my blue badge."

Many thanks for that my good friend. DLA form has been posted and I’ve been given the number, to ring, at the local council office, which I shall do on Tuesday, due to holiday weekend. My Doctor is so supportive, as u know and now I have my walking stick..I presume that will help my cause. Not only helping my cause, it is helping me walk, at times, instead of limping and shuffling my left leg across the floor. I will keep u posted. btw … u said u had to send a cheque? What was that for?? Many thanks once again xxx

I need an aid, but found when I used a walking stick it aggravated my neck pain.
I think a supportive doctor helps.

My council charges a £2 admin fee. Your may not though.

Let me know how you get on. xx

I know it’s a horrible horrible thought .. but seriously do u feel a zimmer type frame would help u…or would u be eligble for one of the motor type wheelchair scooters! Even thinking I’d have a walking stick is a scary thought…but we’ve got to accept that we need help and get the appropriate help to hopefully make us better…or at least get through our day to day things…with as little pain as poss. Don’t u whack me now, coz I mentioned a zimmer!!! Just a thought! Will let u know how I get on re Blue Badge and DLA. Thanks once agian for ur help x (i’m going into hiding now lol)

Nooo, don’t hide away! Stay around and comment, I like hearing from you.

Hmm a zimmer frame! I’m not gonna whack you, maybe a little pinch. lol

The zimmer frames I’ve seen make you lean forward, and I need something that keeps my posture as normal as possible.

The wheelchair scooters almost cost as much as a car! The motability scheme is a car or a scooter.

oh thank goodness i don’t need to hide!!!! but blooming hell, that was a sore pinch – ouch!!

Okies cheaper option…let’s get a go-kart made for u and peeps can take swapsies pulling u around..until u meet a nice man *like u always do* and he can look after u for the day. I’m sure there would be a nice man to be met every day, every week!!!!

Oh well… we went through things together when we ‘started’ u know where…and now we are falling apart together! Things can only get better eh! x

PS I give u alot more kisses than u give me and that was long before the zimmer frame comment (LL sulks…but at least I’m not gin hee hee)!!!!

Leave a Reply

