Slow and Steady

Weight loss diary Day 1

Posted on: May 18, 2009

I went to weigh myself at my local pharmacy today, turns out that my measuring tape has been packed away so weighing myself is my only option.

I wore a vest with lightweight jogging bottoms. I weighed 13.03 stones. When I done weight watchers ages ago, the weight I got to that I liked was 10.08 stones. That means I have a lot of weight to lose, but I’m going to break it down into half stone goals so it doesn’t feel as daunting.

Breakfast

2 portions of fruit (apple and pineapple), 40g of fruit and fibre and  a splash of milk (skimmed, made up from powdered)

Lunch

Two veggie burgers. I’m not sure what the brand is, but there were definitely veggies in there I could identify, so I’m going to class that as one portion of vegetables.

Dinner

Pot roasted beef with broccoli, roasted pumpkin, roasted dasheen and 2 Yorkshire puddings. I actually weighed out the beef. A portion for an adult is 140g. It was a lot more than I expected a portion to be.

Dessert

Dessert? Anyone who knows me is probably scratching their head and wondering if I’ve gone crazy. I’m known for not having a sweet tooth. Give me cheese over chocolate anyday!

I find myself craving sweet things for a while now. It’s definitely emotional, every time I go to my counsellors I stop off at a sweet shop and buy some parma violets and milky mice before I get there. Rather than deny it and then pigging out, I’m going to give myself a chance to have something sweet once a day. If I don’t have it great, if I do then at least it’s been planned and not too unhealthy.

Today I made rice pudding with leftover brown rice, nutmeg, powdered milk, and a tablespoon of condensed milk.

I had 4 tablespoons for dessert. it was really yummy.

I’m house sitting for a friend tonight and she’s told me there’s food in the house. To be on the safe side I’m going to bring my breakfast and a tin of sardines to make my dinner tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

