Slow and Steady

Choosing to be in pain/wl diary days 7-8

Posted on: May 25, 2009

I went out last night to a club that had a special night for ‘old school’ music. I made all the arrangements to make sure I was as comfortable as I could be there, and intended to dance to one or two songs and then groove to the rest in my chair.

The music was fantastic and I couldn’t keep still, there were times when I had to stop as I’m still limited in my range of movements, but every effort I made to pace myself failed as soon as the dj put on yet another of my favourite songs. There was a moment when I knew that if I didn’t stop, I was going to have a major flare and I consciously made the decision to continue.

It made me feel a little better mentally to know it was a decision rather than something that just happened.

I was still upset though because even though it was a decision I made, I still had to stop anyway because I physically couldn’t do what I wanted. Honestly if I wasn’t drinking I think I would have had to leave a lot earlier than I did.

So here I am in bed with my ‘flare box’ by my side. My flare box contains all the things I need to cope when I’m in a flare. I have meds, a laminated sheet of stretches to do in bed, a treat (I change it all the time, the last flare was chocolate, this flare is a cupcake), a crossword book, and a new addition. I have an old pda from an old mobile phone tariff I was on. I no longer use the phone, but have synched it to the wireless connection in the house and am writing this post on it right now! I couldn’t manage to pick up the laptop today so this is the perfect solution.

*******************

wl diary day 7 Sunday

Breakfast

Grapes, and an apple

Lunch

A piece of chicken from a party my mum went to.

Snack

Some ritz crackers

Dinner

A tomato salad and a piece of chicken.

I know that doesn’t seem a lot, but the tomato was huge and perfectly ripe. I added a splash of olive oil with some freshly ground pepper, salt, and a sprinkling of mixed herbs.

At the club I shared a bottle of wine between 3 of us, and then another bottle of wine between 2 of us.

On the way home, we stopped off at McDonalds and I had some fries.

++++++++++++++

Day 8

Brunch

I got up too late to call it breakfast.
2 portions of melon.

Snack
A cupcake
An apple

If I do make it down the stairs to have anything else later it will probably be another piece of fruit or some cherry tomatoes that my mum bought over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

