Slow and Steady

Grocery shopping/wl diary day 15

Posted on: June 1, 2009

I went to Lidl today to see how much of my shopping I could get there. I was surprised at the lack of  frozen vegetables. They didn’t have any frozen sweetcorn, I found that really odd!

I managed to get most things from there, what I didn’t get was the pasta, brown bread flour (they only had white) and sugar. The pasta and sugar are on special offer in Asda which is why Lidl didn’t beat it. The brown bread flour was more per kilo in Lidl.

I bought mackerel fillets with peppercorns, plain and self raising flour, olive oil, salad seed mix (pumpkin, sunflower and pine nuts), and 2 mangoes (I had no fruit for tomorrow morning). The price was £7.22. The same trolley in Asda would have been £10.45. A big difference eh?!

I’m going to the market in the morning, I have written the prices of Lidl’s produce down to see if it really is cheaper in the market.

*******************************************************************************************************

I weighed myself and the machine kept changing from 13 stone to 12.13. It eventually settled on 13 stone. That is 2 pounds heavier than what I weighed last week, but I was a bit sceptical about losing 5 pounds in one week. I’m happy with a 3 pound loss over 2 weeks. I was only expecting a pound a week anyway.

It’s that time of the month and I find because my stomach hurts I’m not really very hungry.

Brunch

Apple and orange. No cereal today was not in the mood for it.

Dinner

Beef stir-fry with noodles. I only used 100g of beef for this dish. It’s what was left over from a meal I made a week or so ago. I bulked it out with vegetables and used Asda’s own hoisin stir-fry sauce. It was nice, but it tasted more like sweet and sour than hoisin.

I had a slice of cake that my mum bought home from church yesterday. It was very crumbly and I ended up having to eat it with a spoon! I also had crackers as I was craving for something savory. I had them plain  as you see in the picture.

Later on in the evening I had 6 ritz crackers. I had an odd reaction to my last set of meds. I was trembling all over, and my stomach felt funny. I thought that plain crackers would calm it down.

While I was downstairs, I saw that the stir-fry I left in the wok had been partially touched, but enough was left in the wok for it not to be washed out. Funny that.

The friend who is taking me to the market tomorrow has suggested we have a picnic afterwards if the weather is nice. Now this friend is a trained chef, and always has a fridge and freezer full of food. The last time we had a picnic there were 2 picnic baskets and a cool bag for the drinks… There was only 4 of us!

She said that she has a bottle of wine chilling, which means she is going to be packing an extensive basket.  I’m going to do tomorrow is have breakfast, eat with her and if I feel peckish later on in the evening, I’ll have some soup.

Leave a Reply

Categories

