Slow and Steady

Appointment with orthopaedic consultant

Posted on: June 18, 2009

The day finally came! I’ve been looking forward to this for ages, I was hoping for some answers finally.

I got there 45 minutes early to give myself time to get the right wing. Good thing too, it was such a long walk. The letter said that I should park in the main car park, it was so wrong! It took me nearly 40 minutes to get there.

I haven’t been into the main entrance of the hospital before. The first thing I thought was ‘why is there a burger king in a hospital’? I mean really, they cannot be serious?

My appointment was at 2 and I was seen about 10 to 3. I reread my list of things to ask, and tell the doctor.

There were training consultants there and as I walked in the consultant started firing off questions. I answered and it was so nice to feel like I was being taken seriously. He tested my reflexes, and said that they were too brisk and without me saying so announced that he wanted to get a scan done of my whole spine.

He said that he thinks my back is muscular, but the neck is something that needs to be investigated. He told the nurse I need an urgent scan and an urgent appointment.

While in the waiting room, I heard a lot of people being given appointments for November for their follow up appointment after scanning. Mine is in July! That means it will definitely be done in the next 5 weeks.

He did say what I may possibly have, but not to me to the trainees and to be honest I was too overwhelmed to ask questions. I did tell him that I find it hard to lie in one position so he made a note that I may need to be sedated.

So all in all, I’m a happy bunny.

I’m going to give the pool a miss tomorrow, no driving for me for a few days I think!

Leave a Reply

