Slow and Steady

CELTA interview

Posted on: July 3, 2009

I had an interview today, for the CELTA course I applied for a few weeks ago. I wasn’t going to go to be honest, because I didn’t think it was going to be worth it.

I went on to gumtree to see how much you could charge for teaching someone English here  and it wasn’t much.

I decided to go as I thought the interview experience would be good. I didn’t think I had a chance of getting through, reason being that I have never been taught grammar, I just knew it. If I wasn’t learning Spanish at the moment, words like past participle would make absolutely no sense to me.

I’m very surprised at how much I enjoyed it, and how much I knew. The college isn’t far, but it’s the furthest I’ve driven for a long time and am pleased I made it, although I am sore now.

I’ve never liked that college because it’s in a borough that has a bad reputation.

I got there on time and saw 2 people there filling out a form. They told me the tutors had gone on a break and said I should start filling in the form. It was 4 pages of grammar. I started it, and knew that I wasn’t going to be able to complete all of it.

When the tutors returned I told them that I had used a book to complete the task (as told to in the instructions), and that my grammar wasn’t good enough to complete all the questions without  a book.

They told me not to worry and that everything on the form would be taught, they just wanted to see how much I know already.

So I continued, and then we had the interview stage. It was a group interview… Well there was one person with me. They asked us how we would teach the difference in some sentences they gave us.

I think it went well for me.  The tutors complimented me on the way I wrote mini 200 words essay (10 words a line so it looked like blocks) , and how concise my explanations were.

I explained that I have worked with people who  do not speak English so understand that there is no point doing a long speech.

I’ll hear by next Wednesday whether or not I have am on the course. I’m cautiously positive.

Leave a Reply

