Slow and Steady

A rant.

Posted on: August 3, 2009

My dad sent me a link to a Panorama programme that was on last week called The Trauma Industry and it spoke about how Post Traumatic Stress Disorder was only used for people who were soldiers and now how it’s being used in minor car accidents claims, and because of claiming, people are not getting well because they want to claim more.

I was furious.

My own father thinks I’m prolonging my illness to get more money?

My counsellor said last year sometime that I had PTSD, and I told no-one, because… Well it’s no-one elses business.

For the past 18 months all I’ve heard from many mouths is that I shouldn’t worry because I’ll get paid in the end. Every time someone asks me what is wrong, the next question is are you claiming.

Apparently I’m going to get this huge payout, and that is going to make everything alright.

Except I know that is not going to happen.

I have had back and neck injuries spanning back to the 90s. I’ve never denied it, and I’ve never claimed that this one accident made me as immobile as I am.

What I am feeling is a result of about a decade of injuries. I know it, the solicitors know it and work knows it.

I have absolutely no idea what I’m entitled to and to be honest it’s the last thing on my mind right now. I half wish I wasn’t claiming because I hate the nudge nudge wink wink type comments people make when they see me walking, or having difficulty with something.

It’s so easy to say that I shouldn’t care what people think, but I do. It’s upseting. It’s bad enough being told that my pain is just in my head, but implying that I’d put my life on hold for money?

That pisses me off.

*exhales*

That’s better.

Leave a Reply

Categories

