Slow and Steady

Attempt 1 to buy a car

Posted on: August 6, 2009

What the ad said

5 Doors, Automatic, Hatchback, Petrol, Metallic Green, 1 Owner. Air conditioning, Folding rear seats, Radio/CD, Rear headrests, Immobiliser, Side airbags, Front electric windows, Alloy wheels, Electric door mirrors, Audio remote control, ABS, Cloth seat trim, Front fog lights, Front head restraints, Passenger airbag, Manual sunroof, Remote central locking, Drivers airbag, Trip computer, Body coloured bumpers, PAS. Insurance Group:4, FACTORY SATNAV .. ALLOYS .. FULLY LOADED… 115,000 MILES . HENCE BARGAIN PRICE .. RARE 5 DOOR AUTO WITH ALL THE TOYS !!!,

I checked with my friend to see if the high mileage was a problem. He said no, and that as long as it was properly looked after, it would probably work better than a car that has just peddled about to the shops and back.

I phoned up and asked the relevant questions. He said 1 owner a guy who was travelling for work (hence the factory fitted sat nav), that as far as he knows it hasn’t been in any accidents and there was a hpi check done on it.

I did my own personal one, and it checked out OK.

When I got there, I noticed a little bump on the bonnet. My friend glanced at it (I mean really, it was a glance) and said, this has been resprayed. As we walked around the car, there were so many scratches and he said that it’s been in an accident and has had a new bumper and a complete respray.

When the dealer came over, my friend told him it’s been resprayed and the dealer started to stutter. Then he conceded that it MAY have been, but it’s still a good car. Then he said ‘you know how some women drive, she probably nicked the curb…’ Putting aside the outstanding sexism in that comment, can you see where he tripped up?

Yes he said she, while he told me on the phone it was a man’s car.

We walked away. I don’t deal with liars.

*deep sigh*

I really though that the car was going to be mine. I thought it was a sign as I ordered a laptop yesterday and it’s green.

We bought a Loot, and went through it and there was only about 3 automatics in there.

My friend thinks that an auction would be the best place to buy a car. I took a look and there is one on auction on Friday. It’s a 3 door though, and I really wanted a 5 door this time.

We’ll see.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Categories

