Slow and Steady

The world is right again!

Posted on: August 13, 2009

I’m posting on my lovely new laptop. A proper keyboard, this is true bliss.

I want to say a big thank you to Mark from mcscom. He handled my order with a lot of care, and after the problem I had with the first order, he checked every screen I was interested in until he found a matte one. It’s a refurb, but has a 3 year Dell Warranty, and I cannot see a scratch on it. I much prefer to buy an older product that was highly rated, than a newer product that is cheaply made.

I’m going to spend the evening pimping my laptop!

I’ve taken off all the rubbish that comes preloaded, and downloaded my essential programmes. I have also taken some tips from The Simple Dollar blog and MSE about essential free software.

My Essential Programmes

I downloaded Firefox of course. There is no reason to ever misspell anything with the dictionary plugin and I absolutely love the fab autopager plugin for infinitive scrolling.

When it comes to Anti Virus I’ve never had any problems with Avast, so no need to change a good thing. To clean up all the left over bits of software junk etc, I use CCleaner. It also lets you disable what opens when the computer boots up, so it can run faster.

The next thing I downloaded was VLC. It plays  movies from any region, so I don’t have to bother with wmp at all.

To make minor changes to pictures, reduce red eye etc, I use Paint.net.

Robocom is something I downloaded when I was entering competitions, and it was so handy I’ve kept it on my computer. You can fill in forms with one click.

Recommendations I’m going to try out

Abiword– I don’t have Word, and Microsoft Works is as much use a chocolate teapot. This is supposed to be a good alternative.

Thunderbird– Now I should be really ashamed to admit this, but I have absolutely no idea how to use Outlook. I’ve never worked in an office, and I’ve always used hotmail, gmail etc so thought it unnecessary.  For the little something I’m working on, I need to use it. I thought that as it’s a Mozilla tool, and I can add plugins to it too, I can’t go wrong.

Workrave – It locks the computer down so you can take a break, have a stretch etc. Sometimes I don’t realise how much time I’m wasting browsing for important things online, so this will hopefully keep me focused.

Picard – Now I have a lot of salsa cds made by DJs etc, and when I’ve put them on my hard disk, they are nameless. This piece of software apparently analyses it, and puts a name to it. I’m looking forward to using this.

Media Monkey Now I no longer have an ipod, I’m going to experiment with a different player.

So as you can see I have lots to do!

3 Responses to "The world is right again!"

Nice post. I am going to read this again when I get in from work. I have so much hard drive space I might try out some of these

Please do, and if you have any recommendations for me, I’d love to hear them x

[…] As I said the day I got my laptop, I downloaded a few sites from recommendations. I thought I’d do a little update in how […]

Leave a Reply

