Slow and Steady

Weekend plans: Going to hospital.

Posted on: September 4, 2009

This weekend is my one of my brother’s and my cousin’s son birthday. My brother is planning a picnic in the park, and my cousin is having a house party with a bouncy castle outside.

I on the other hand will be in hospital having a flexible sigmoidoscopy.My appointment is right in the middle of Saturday afternoon, and I can’t eat any solids today until my appointment mid afternoon, I’m not impressed!

According to the letter I’ll be having some type of anaesthetic, so will need someone to drive me home. Because of my back and neck, I haven’t really been paying any attention to the fact the hospital keep sending me for more of these tests.

I first had to go because of bleeding, and then after that I went back and they gave me some medication, and then after that they set up this test.

I suddenly thought how funny it would be (in a droll funny way) if I’ve got something seriously wrong with me down there when I’ve spent all my time worrying about somewhere else.

After doing a search for the procedure, I came across this post on a blog and it annoyed me greatly. The difference in treatment you get as a private patient can be really vast, and I wholeheartedly agree with the Lottie that misdiagnosis is a result of not wanting to look at each patient case by case.

I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again, I really do think that I’d be a lot further on in my recovery if I had money. In a country where tax is supposed to go towards a health care system I don’t think it should be that way.

Leave a Reply

