Slow and Steady

How times flies

Posted on: April 23, 2010

I can’t believe that I’ve not written on here since February. Lots and lots have happened, but I’m going to stick with the present right now.

I’ve just come back from a spa break. It was lovely and relaxing, and it gave me a lot of time to think. I realised that I’m not being totally honest with myself.

How? Well food for a start. I like to say I’m trying the best I can, but am I really? At the spa there were no snacks apart from fruit, and you had 3 meals a day. A good portion of that was fruit and vegetables. For example we had peach cheesecake one night as dessert, and instead of the peach being on top of it, it was mixed in so it was quite healthy.

At home, I haven’t been doing that well. Instead of trying to inspire my family to eat better, I’ve been like them, snacking when I’m peckish on the crisps and biscuits instead of waiting until I’m hungry and eating a proper meal.

I’ve also realised that stairs are something that I really find difficult. I found that I was moving a lot better at the spa, I thought it was because I was in such a relaxing place, and while that probably was a factor, when I had to climb stairs I realised how much it hurts.

I really want to move back into my home, so I’ve made an appointment with the welfare advisor to see if there is any way I can do it.

I’ve come back, positive, and so far, have cut out the snacking, and have made an effort to have some fruit or veg with each meal.

Leave a Reply

