Slow and Steady

Benefit renewal interview

Posted on: April 26, 2010

I had to go for an interview today to see if I’m still entitled to a benefit I’ve been receiving from the tribunal I went to last year. I’m left completely and honestly baffled because I don’t know whether I’ve done myself a favour or a disservice. I was honest. I said I have god and bad days, I told her about the things I’m doing to help with my situation, and what I do when I’m having a bad day. I bought letters from my psychiatrist and neurologist.

She seemed impressed with the way I’m handling myself, but I don’t know if that means she thinks I won’t be entitled to the help any more. That money is really important because it’s the only money I have that doesn’t go towards bills. It’s my ‘spending money’. Without I can’t buy food or petrol.

I’m hoping that I’ll still get it, and what would be brilliant is if it gets increased to the next tier. That’ll give me a bit more petrol in the tank.

I’ve started filling in the tax return form, I have to fill in as I’m renting my flat. What a bloody faff. I was on the phone for ages to ask a simple question, and then came off, filled out that bit and realised that I needed to ask a few more. I have until June I guess so I can’t complain. It’s just annoying though.

I rang the council benefits advisor to see if I was entitled to anything else. I really really REALLY want to move back to my home. He said no, and then explained the procedure to me. I would have to move back into my home, and wait 13 weeks before I can start a claim. Then I have to wait to be assessed then I may get help.

I was gasped in disbelieve, and he laughed and said that it used to be 52 weeks. The government wanted people to buy income protection insurance, but now in this climate, it has been significantly reduced. I can only shake my head.

Tags:

1 Response to "Benefit renewal interview"

[…] and I’ve stopped getting paid this benefit. I phoned them to find out what is happening and they’ve said that I should get a decision in […]

Leave a Reply

