Slow and Steady

Nokia complaint

Posted on: April 27, 2010

I’m so so so pissed off. I took my time in choosing a phone, I went with Nokia as I’ve mostly been a Nokia fan and they are generally reliable. I ordered an N86 in October, and I thought… Still think actually, that the phone is a hidden gem that was overlooked because of the touch screen revolution.

It has an 8MP camera which is good to use. I can get on the internet fairly quickly, the calender is great, it syncs well with my computer, it has 8gb so I can put loads of stuff on it, and the speakers are good so I can put music on it and play them through the headset. It’s MY perfect phone.

Then I had to start wrapping the wire around the phone for it to charge. After a few weeks of that it just stopped working all together. So I bought a new charger, and it didn’t work.  After much to-ing and fro-ing, I’ve ended up sending this letter to Nokia and I hope they respond with a positive response. If not, I will never own a product from them again, and will trash their name to everyone.

Dear Sir/Madam,

I chose a Nokia N86 when I entered into an 18 month contract with o2 in October 2008.

The charging port has become loose twice now in the past 2 months.

I’ve sent it back to my network (o2), and one of your care points, and both places informed me that it’s not covered under the 2 year warranty because it’s apparently customer misuse. I’ve been also told that if the port comes loose again, it will be unfixable.

If you look on your discussion forum, and a google search “Nokia 86 charging port”, you will see that there are many people with this problem, we can’t all be heavy handed!

So here I am only 6 months into an 18 month contract, with a broken phone. I’m very disappointed as I’ve been an dedicated Nokia phone user since the days of the ‘banana’ phone.

Both Car Phone Warehouse and the independent mobile repair shop I’ve used, have said this is a common problem, and that the port hasn’t been fitted securely in the first place.

The Sale of Goods Act 1979 makes it an implied term of the contract that goods be as described, of satisfactory quality and fit for purpose. As you are in breach of contract I am entitled to have the phone replaced and I would request that you confirm that you will do this within the next seven days.
I also require you to confirm whether you will arrange for the N86 to be collected or will reimburse me for the cost of returning it.

I look forward to hearing from you

Let’s see what they’ll say.

Tags:

1 Response to "Nokia complaint"

[…] Comment! I got a reply from my letter. […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

