Slow and Steady

When the NHS works, it’s a really good thing.

Posted on: December 9, 2010

I had to go for a blood test this week, and had to go to my local hospital instead of the doctor’s surgery.

I got there in the afternoon and took a ticket. I was number 42. The number that called as I sat down was 38. Two minutes later, I was ushered into a cubicle to a very smiley nurse. I told her that I’m hard to get blood from, and usually need a butterfly needle. She rolled her eyes, and said that she can tell I usually go to the doctor’s surgery nurse because they keep telling people that, when in fact the small needle is smaller than a butterfly one.

She then showed me one to prove what that she was right.

I was a bit tense and braced myself for being  subjected to my usual pin cushion session, but she found the vein and got the blood out in one go. I was soooo shocked.

I said, OMG I could hug you, that has never happened. You know what? She hugged me! Then I really thought I was going to cry. I wish every trip to the hospital was as easy and nice as that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

