Slow and Steady

Workplace assesment

Posted on: December 17, 2010

The workplace assessment

So today I finally get a workplace assessment. The health and safety person came to my work station, and did explained a few things to me. She was lost for words though, when I explained my routine to her. You see when I’m at work, I have to stand up and sit down because my back hurts. While standing, I usually put the keyboard and mouse on a box, so I can reach it, and keep working. After a while, my back hurts from standing so I sit. Then my neck starts hurting, so I lean on the box. By the time my day is over, I’m lying down in the cab home to get the pressure off. It sounds like a nightmare, but I’d have to do the same thing at home anyway.

She sat there for about a minute bless her, and she said ‘ooooooookkk, well, we’ll have to get the screen to your eye level’, and went looking for a box to put the screen on. She did however provide me with a foot rest which was definitely an improvement.

I’m off for a couple of weeks now, and am going to start swimming regularly again, and see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

