Slow and Steady

Turning negatives into positives

Posted on: December 21, 2010

The cough still hasn’t gone. It’s less painful in my back, and for that I’m very very thankful for.

The weekend was horrid. I couldn’t sleep for more than about 3 hours without waking up coughing. My mum had to help me out of the bed to get to the bathroom because I couldn’t do it alone. A friend of mine phoned me at about 6 in the morning after seeing my facebook status update, and I couldn’t even cry properly because it was so painful.

So where’s the positive bit? Well last week I decided that instead of trying to loose weight in the New Year, I wanted to get to my preferred weight before the New Year. I’ve got a dress I want to wear on New Years eve, and have it hanging on my wall as motivation.

I know I can’t exercise everyday, it hurts my back and neck, so have been contemplating different diets, and even fasting. I used to fast once a year before my accident.

I’ve been given a long term course of antibiotics as my HS (note, link may be TMI for some. You may not want to read it if you’re eating/have just eaten) has flared up again, and wanted to get some probiotics to replace the good bacteria the antibiotics will be killing.

I went to Holland and Barrett, and got talking to one of the employees about wanting to lose weight. She first suggested the most expensive thing of course, but when I refused she showed me Tonalin CLA,which I decided to buy. Here’s some information on it.

CLA is a newly recognised supplement derived from natural safflower oil. CLA or Conjugated Linolic Acid is found naturally in a variety of foods. Over the past decade, however, our changing dietary patterns have diminished those foods high in CLA content. Tonalin offers a rich source of conjugated linoleic acid from the oil of the safflower to supplement the diet naturally.

When you consume fat that your body does not need to use for energy, it is absorbed by fat cells with the help of an enzyme called lipoprotein lipase. CLA blocks this enzyme and diverts unused fat to your muscle cells. The CLA then activates another enzyme which helps your muscle to burn this fat, especially during exercise.

That’s why, when used in balance with a healthy diet and regular exercise program, Tonalin® CLA is so effective in helping you lose body fat, and keep it off.

Because it is so effective, Tonalin® CLA can also help eliminate the unhealthy “yo-yoing” pattern of losing and gaining weight. Clinical studies have proven that Tonalin® can prevent fat regain.

Since I’ve had this cough, my body doesn’t want food at all. Even tea is too much so I’ve just been drinking water. It’s like I’m fasting, and I’m loving it. It feels like my system is having a complete rest. I’ve been sleeping, reading, doing the very basic of stretches, and listening to music. When I try and have a conversation I end up in fits of coughs so I’m not answering my phone. I’m in my own little retreat. As I get better, I’m going to continue having just water, then increase my stretches. I think this is going to get me into my New Year’s eve dress!

I gave myself an angel card reading a few weeks back and turned the messages in screen savers. One in particular describes this situation perfectly.

I certainly didn’t expect to lose weight by having a cough!

Negative in positive. Loving it, and thanking God for making it possible.

Leave a Reply

Categories

