Slow and Steady

Goals for 2011

Posted on: January 5, 2011

Have you made resolutions this year?

I’ve said that I don’t have any, mainly because resolutions, to me, are associated with things that never get done. I’ve got goals, goals that I will reach, and extend beyond the year. In a couple of positive living articles that I have read, they’ve talked about doing things one at a time, so you can give yourself and the goal the appropriate energy.

I agree as when I have tried to juggle, everything just dropped! I also think that when working lots of things, as you change your goals may change, so may not want to do something any more, but don’t want to stop because you’ve already put work into it.

Obviously there are things that need to be put into place and be worked on, like a budget and finding somewhere else to volunteer, but most of my energy will be focussed on the main goal.

This is probably no surprise, my first goal is my body.

I need to make my body as healthy as I can.

Food wise I’m going to use 3 day fruit flushes to get my weight down. The fruit flush I’m doing is devised by Jay Robb, and for the 1st day, you drink only protein shakes and in the evening you have a huge salad with a piece of protein. On days 2 and 3, you have fruit every 2 hours until the evening when you have a salad and a protein shake. I’ve done it before as one offs and it’s worked, I’ve lost about 7 pounds each time. What also usually happens is that afterwards I’d naturally add more veg to my plate.

In the book it’s suggested that you do this for 12 weeks for a weight loss program, it says that after the initial one where you can lose up to 9 pounds, you should lose about 2 pounds a week. Not much, but I think taking it slow is better anyway. I’m happy with doing it this way because I like the fact you eat a lot of fruit and veg. I don’t weigh myself, so I’m going to be using my clothes as a guide.

I’m also going to start taking turmeric as it’s an natural anti inflammatory which is good for the joints, and is also good for HS too. I can’t take normal ones any more as they affect my stomach.

I’m going to start body brushing. I have cellulite down to my knees. I’m not sure if it does work, but I have the body brush so why not try? Also, I’ve been reading articles on how not to look frumpy in flat shoes, and a few have suggested wearing a slightly shorter length skirt to give the appearance of a longer leg. I wouldn’t do that at the moment because I’m so conscious of it… Actually I did it on New Years Day, and I was uncomfortable.

Positive affirmations in the present. Things like “I am healthy and happy with my weight”. “I am happy that I fit into my old clothes”.

Try osteopathy -There’s a school not too far from my gran’s house. I’m going to get a friend to drop me as I think I may be sore after. This is going to be one of the last things I do, because I need to budget for it first.

Try to work out an exercise routine that fits in with work.

The next goal will be my phobia.

I have a phobia developed from my accident. I’ll be working on it with C.A.T. My psychiatrist recommended it to me, and I like the idea of this kind of therapy because there is a time limit on the sessions, and there’ll be a  goal. I prefer this than going somewhere every week and just talking and talking.

My next goal is work

By the time I get to this, I’ll probably have been sacked from my current job. I intend to start some volunteer work in teaching, and look for some part time work teaching after I leave the company I’m in. This is all I can say for this right now.

I am going to be setting financial goals, but they are basic. Save, save save.

Leave a Reply

Categories

